Race 3 – Report and Results

There were a number of visitors and first timers among the 39 competitors who lined up for Race 3 of the Dubbo Triathlon Club 2014/15 season on Sunday afternoon sponsored by St George Bank’s Dubbo Branch.

The weather held out despite the threat of another afternoon storm, however, the humidity challenged competitors.

Dubbo Triathlon Club member Andrew Dind took out the handicap event improving on his times from the previous race in both the cycle and run legs. New to Dubbo this year, Dind has been a regular participant at recent Dubbo Triathlon Club events.

DTC Race 3_Eli Beach
Fastest on course Eli Beach


On a new time trial bike, Walgett local Eli Beach shaved a minute and a half off his bike leg to be the quickest on course in the sprint event finishing the 550m swim, 18km bike leg, and 4km run in an overall time of 52 mins 35 secs.

In only her second triathlon, long distance runner Emma Packer stamped her authority as the fastest women on course in 1 hr 4 mins and 9 secs, which was a little over a minute and a half in front of Club stalwart Lisa Tratt.


Club junior Lachlan Sinclair continued his good form taking out the short course event well ahead of the rest of the field with a time of 40 mins and 3 secs. This junior has a bright future in the sport already posting swim times that rival Dubbo’s elite adult competitors. Sinclair’s swim coach Karin Morgan finished second in the short course and was the first female competitor to cross the line in a time of 46 mins 50 secs.

See the full results from Sunday’s race: Race 3_7 December 2014_Race Results

As always, a big thank you to competitors and marshals, led by Race Director Rob Duffy, who ensured the success of the day.  It was great to see a number of new faces in all race categories.

A contingent from Dubbo will travel to Bathurst this Sunday for the second meet of the Central West Interclub Challenge.

The next Dubbo Triathlon Club sprint distance race will be held Sunday, 11th January, with registrations commencing from 2.30pm at Ollie Robbins Oval.